Since I’m having issue getting KDE Network Manager to compile I have found a great little utility.  CNetworkManager While not feature complete yet more then suffices for connecting to my WPA2 encrypted wireless router.  It could still use connecting with static IP address and and specifying routes and host servers, etc. Best of all  it is a python script.

You  need to install cnetworkmanager.conf to /etc/dbus-1/system.d/ I recommend this even if you have one with similar settings for knetworkmanager or nm-applet.
Here is how I use it.


./cnetworkmanager -C my-ap --wpa-pass=secretsnottold
cnetworkmanager 0.8.1 - Command Line Interface for NetworkManager
pbkdf2 66cd7020f6df8dc9198943edba802e87b36db345da9bdd5187030c789892
Connected: /org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/ActiveConnection/2
^Z
[1]+  Stopped                 ./cnetworkmanager -C my-ap --wpa-pass=secretsnottold
verbalshadow@tao:~/code/cnetworkmanager$ bg
[1]+ ./cnetworkmanager  -C my-ap --wpa-pass=secretsnottold &
verbalshadow@tao:~/code/cnetworkmanager$

If you  look you can see that I ran it, stopped it, and then made it a background proccess using ‘bg’ you can bring it back to the forground by using ‘fg’

This is a great program, especially when you have broken X.

